Andersson Named Landmarks Illinois Legislator of the Year

State Representative Steven Andersson (R-Geneva) was recently named a joint-recipient of the 2018 Landmarks Illinois Richard Driehaus Preservation Award for Legislator of the Year, as well as the President’s Choice Award.

Rep. Andersson was recognized along with State Sens. Pamela Altoff and Steve Stadelman, and Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth. All four of these lawmakers have been champions of historic preservation and instrumental in helping to enact preservation legislation in the State of Illinois, most recently the new State Historic Tax Credit overwhelmingly approved by the legislature on May 31st. Governor Bruce Rauner signed the legislation into law on July 27, 2018, expanding the existing River Edge Redevelopment Zone and creating a statewide historic preservation tax credit for Illinois – a major accomplishment for the state and preservation community!

Representative Andersson is a co-chair of the Illinois Historic Preservation Legislative Caucus and has worked hard to advocate for historic preservation in his 65th district, and across Illinois.

No comments :